vegan blog

VEGAN BLOG: Steak Fajitas!

Fajitas/Tacos

My favorite food ever is fajitas.

Tonight, Corey and I made steak fajitas/tacos ♥ Earlier in the day, Corey made some yummy vegan chili with beans, riced cauliflower, tomatoes, and lots of spices! It was actually soo good. He’s awesome  🙂

Something that I discovered before I became vegan is portobello mushrooms marinated in soy sauce, grilled or cooked on the stove. When its grilled it literally tastes like a burger. So tonight I thought it would be a great substitution for steak!

IMG_0475

I put some portobello’s in a ziploc bag with soy sauce, a little sesame oil, cilantro, and black pepper and let it marinate while everything else was being prepared. Red bell peppers, onion, garlic, and green chili pepper are sliced up by my amazing knife skilled partner, and sautéed however you like it. Then I sliced the mushrooms like strips of steak and threw them in a hot pan for a few minutes. The soy sauce reduces into this thick sweet & salty sauce that can turn any mushroom hater (Corey) into a mushroom lover! 

IMG_0478IMG_0484

In the pantry we had an almost-empty bag of quinoa and it wasn’t enough to be able to cook. I’ve tried making like a quarter cup of quinoa, but it’s not enough for my smallest pot, and it just eventually burns on the bottom. I remembered a salad that I had at Bare Burger (I think) that had toasted quinoa on it, so I thought I would try it out. I poured it out onto a clean pan and turned the heat on medium. It took about 5-7 minutes with a little bit of shaking up, and after a little while you can hear them popping! I think that’s when you know it’s close to done. One taste of these toasty little crunchies and I knew.. it was love. Not to mention beautiful!

I put them on my fajita and my salad.

IMG_0481

Fajitas like this are so satisfying because each one you make is different! Things we added tonight were alfalfa sprouts, avocado, tomatoes, the toasted quinoa, green chilis, sriracha and a fresh squeezed lime wedge make all the flavors explode!

Can’t forget about the salad! The Goddess Dressing from Trader Joes is soooo good, and guilt-free.. so you can have extra dressing! I don’t know about you or anyone else, but I love a salad covered in dressing. We also added some cucumber (fell to bottom), rinsed canned chick peas, hemp seeds ♥, and the toasted quinoa for some crunch and buttery texture! I’m making myself want another one as I type this

IMG_0505

Leave a Reply

